Rejoice: Delighting in the Lord/Plus a Book Giveaway

I asked my new to kindergarten grandson: “Why were you dancing in line?” (He had received a warning from his teacher).

His eyes grew big as he excitedly informed me: “Because I’m a happy kid!”

Google Dictionary definition of Re-joice: Feel or show great delight. Well, he was certainly expressing outwardly the inner delight he was feeling.

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Philippians 4:4 NIV

Honestly, we don’t always feel like rejoicing; not even before the Lord. Some days (or weeks/months) we find ourselves trudging through life with just about enough energy to put one foot in front of the other. We don’t feel delighted, so we don’t show delight.

My old trusty Collins Concise Dictionary and Thesaurus describes delight as; take great pleasure and enjoy, feast on, glory in, indulge in, revel in and savor.

Isn’t that what Philippians 4:4 encourages us to do? Take great pleasure, enjoy, feast on, glory in, indulge in, revel in and savor the Lord? Rejoice/Delight…in Him.

Let me put it this way; we are not going to dance in line unless we are a happy kid on the inside. How do we expect to feel and show delight when we are disconnected from the source of our delight?

Tap Dancing on the Inside

King David’s life was not all sunshine and ice cream parties and neither is ours. Turmoil surrounded him even in his family. When he was fleeing from his son Absalom, David declared to the Lord in Psalm 3:3 “But you are a shield around me, O Lord; you bestow glory on me and lift up my head.”

We may come before the Lord with our heads hanging low, but as we spend time in His presence, feasting on His goodness our heads will be lifted. We will dance again because He is our delight. Okay, all the non dancers don’t freak out, you can do a little tap dance on the inside…no one will know your secret except you, the Lord and….. thousand upon thousands of angels.

 You did it: you changed wild lament into whirling dance; You ripped off my black mourning band and decked me with wildflowers. I’m about to burst with song; I can’t keep quiet about you. God, my God, I can’t thank you enough.     Psalm 30:11 Message

Whether we dance outwardly or inwardly is not the point. My point is; Jesus is our delight, not our circumstances.

“Jesus is our delight, not our circumstances.”

One way to express the delight we have in Him, is to write it down in a journal. One sentence or a full page, there are no rules, it is entirely up to you how much or little you write, or indeed how often you write. Whether you have a thousand journals…you know you need one more, or you are new to journaling I have just what you want.

I am giving away a beautiful journal with the words Rejoice in the Lord on the front cover and scripture on every other page. See photos.

When I saw the little bird on the front cover I wondered if I should signup for Twitter, so I can tweet about God’s love and grace. Do you use social media to brag on God?

How to enter: Simply leave a comment telling me what type of social media you use (please no links) to brag on God, OR a comment regarding journaling or about the Lord. Choose between the comment box on this site or gracelaceandpolkadots Facebook page. You can comment as much as you want, but only One comment per person will be entered into the drawing. Closes on Saturday August 19th at 10pm central time and winner will be announced Monday 21st in Grace Lace and Polkadots blog post.

Helena

Looking to Jesus. Living in His Radiance

 

 

4 thoughts on “Rejoice: Delighting in the Lord/Plus a Book Giveaway

  1. Helena, another fantastic post! I love to journal. Within the lines of my books I find intimacy with God, share my secrets with Him, remember His blessings, and write of things I’ve learned and I don’t want to forget. Thank you for your post that teaches me another way to write to God: Make Him my delight; not my circumstances!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved your grandson’s answer as to why he was dancing in line and the points you made in your post. When I give that sacrifice of praise, I do find my spirits are lifted. I love journals and have kept one off and on for a long time. Now I mostly use it for “practice writing” to capture my thoughts for a blog post or other writing. Although I love that journal, I’m going to pass on this drawing because I was so fortunate to win the last one.

    Like

    • Sacrifice of praise…breaking through the flesh barrier to give honor to the one who is always worthy of praise.
      Yep, the state of His worth does not change with the state of our minds and emotions or our circumstances.
      Thank you Dorothy for considering others, though you are welcome to enter.

      Like

Leave a Reply

