Fully Present in His Presence

chair-in-field-poster

“It’s five,” my husband said. I peaked out through half opened eyes and looked at the clock with its bright red numbers illuminated against a black background. Wishing the five was a three didn’t change the reading 05:00 that was being boldly displayed like a New York electronic billboard right there in my bedroom.

I only closed my eye lids for a brief second but when I opened them the clock somehow had jumped to 05:20. How does that happen? Time travel? Sleep is wonderful but not when you need to roll out instead of rolling over in bed.

I had planned on leaving the house at 05:30 and now I only had ten minutes to be up, ready and out. It would take me twenty minutes to my destination that would get me there with ten minutes to spare. I’m not that quick or bright eyed in the mornings and I did not want to arrive late, so for a brief moment I considered staying in bed.

It was the week of prayer and fasting at church and this was day two of five of early morning worship and prayer meetings. I had to make myself push back the covers and get up. It’s easy to say we are going to do something but a lot harder to actual do it especially when it is an ongoing commitment.

I pulled into the parking lot at 05.50 the first morning and I could not believe my eyes. So many cars already parked and more still arriving. The previous January time of prayer and fasting I had prayed from home…sometimes that was praying from bed, lol. Don’t judge me please, I’m keeping it real.

This year I decided I needed to be fully present and it seemed many others had made the same choice (I’m talking numbers in the hundreds). I was delighted to see so many people come to seek the Lord for themselves, family, their community, church and for Arkansas. I wondered if the number in attendance would dwindle over the week. It didn’t, rather it increased.

People are hungry for God, they want to know Him, to hear from Him and they are willing to obey Him. With grateful hearts for His mercy and love they want to worship Him.

The woman at the well had a one on one talk with Jesus about worship, you can read the account in John chapter 4. Jesus told her (Message Bible), “Those who worship him must do it out of their very being, their spirits, their true selves, in adoration.”

We cannot fake worship, it’s not a case of fake it till you make it. It either comes from your inner most being or it doesn’t. Have you ever been in a worship service where you are singing the words but your heart and mind is somewhere else? I have and to be transparent it’s happened more than I would like to admit to myself.

I love to worship the Lord.  He is so worthy of praise and I know that when I’m not fully present in His presence I am missing out on the most precious intimate time with the Lord. So what is a girl to do? Confess of course. My confession usual sounds something like this, “Sorry Lord, I don’t seem to be with it this morning. I want to worship you in spirit and in truth. Help me to block out the distractions and concentrate on you.” It works every time because my prayer came from my heart.  He heard me and granted my request because He is also eager to spend time with me.

If you find it hard to express your love for Him to Him then tell Him. Don’t worry He is not going to have you doing something way off base from His Word. God loves you and wants to spend time with you.  He wants to fellowship with you and believe me you will never regret spending time in His presence.

” That’s the kind of people the Father is out looking for: those who are simply and honestly themselves before him in worship.” John 4 Message Bible

Make a decision today to dedicate a time to come before the Lord daily in worship. No fancy words needed, no particular setting. Just you and the Lord doing a one on one. Put on some worship music if it will help, though not needed as you can sing your own love song from your heart. Just be yourself and offer up honest adoration. Be fully present in His presence.

Until next week

Looking to Jesus. Living in His Radiance

Helena

What helps you to be fully present in His presence? Share your thoughts in the comment box, let us be each other’s encourager.

Feel free to share this post with a friend

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Fully Present in His Presence

  1. Bravo to you and the hundreds of others who pushed back the covers and rolled out of bed. Scripture says the Lord is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him so I am certain those efforts will have a huge return. I am already hearing reports of some of them. Thank you for earnestly seeking God and His presence, Helena.

    Like

Leave a Reply

