A Heart Ablaze with His Love

candlesThe candlelight service was underway, the worship team and individual singers and musicians excelled in glorifying Jesus with their talents. Each passionate in declaring the good news of our saviors birth.

“Where’s the fire, Nanna?” my young grandson asked.

He was referring to the lighting of the candles towards the end of the service and what a beautiful sight it is. The lights in the sanctuary are turned off plunging the sanctuary into almost total darkness if it were not for light radiating from one candle on the platform with the lead pastor. Other pastors then step forward and light their candles from the lone candle. They in turn go to the front row of each section of seats and light the candles of the people in that row. Each person then turns to the row behind them and lights the candle of the person standing there, row after row this is repeated until the whole sanctuary a glowing.

“Where’s my fire?” I asked myself.

Am I burning with passion for Jesus? Am I willing to walk on water if He asked? Or am I just content to tread cautiously in the water?

Are people drawn to the light of God within me causing them to want Him for themselves? Or am I hiding His light, keeping it to myself?

As I pondered the question “Where’s my fire?” I turned around to see how far the lighting process had gone in the sanctuary, it still had a way to go. I looked at my brightly burning, wax dripping, candle and prayed it would not burn out before the Pastor gave the okay to blow out the flame.

I don’t want a fast burning candle all aglow one minute and nothing left to burn the next. No, I’m in this for the long haul and the only way for my candle to burn brightly everyday is for me to come daily to the source of the fire. To spend time with Jesus basking in His love, receiving His grace, and standing on His truth.  Then I will burn brightly with the flame of His light.

How is your fire doing?  Are you burning brightly with God’s love, or are you dripping wax from a fast burning but short lived candle? As I see it if we don’t spend time with Jesus we will all burn out too soon. Enjoy spending time in His presence and let His light shine through you.  Let Him set your heart daily ablaze with His love.

I was just thinking what title should I give this post and I thought of This Little Light of Mine. Then it dawned on me that the light of God in us is not little at all. His light is brilliant, no darkness in it. So often we hear people say things like “Oh, I’m just going to let my little light shine.” as if it is a pathetically small insignificant light. Not so dear sister  in Christ. Lift your eyes up fix them on Jesus and let the Light of the world shine brilliantly through you.

“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.  Matthew 5:14  Message Bible

Helena

Looking to Jesus. Living in His Radiance

 

Share your thoughts in the comment box I look forward to hearing from you. Share this post with your friends be their encourager. As you go back to work after the Christmas break Shine with His Brilliant Light so others will be drawn to Christ.

P.S. Just a reminder: The special offer for Grace Lace and Polkadots readers of 15% discount for Jill McSheehy’s new bible study, Journey Though Acts ends on December 31st 2016. You will find details and links my the post Preparing For Farewell.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

