Umbrella of Love

20160107_105251    Early December I received a coupon in the mail from a major retailer, it was worth ten dollars and no further purchase was needed in order to use the coupon. The store in question is in a shopping center a little way out of town, not somewhere I visit often. Still, I put the coupon in my purse knowing I would probably visit the area before the expiry date on the coupon.

Just a few days later I received an invitation to attend a birthday luncheon in honor of a friend. Most of us enjoy a celebration and I’m no different. I quickly responded to the organizer of the gathering with a “Yes. Count me in.”

I take too long deciding what to eat when presented with a new menu. When possible I go online and view what is offered beforehand.  I’m glad I did, I knew the restaurant was in the same shopping center as the store who sent me the ten dollar coupon. What I didn’t realize was they were right next door to each other.

About sixteen women ages ranging from late twenties to early seventies gathered to celebrate the birthday girl . After rearranging tables and chairs into one large dinning table, we took our seats. I ordered my predetermined online choice of chicken and salad and I was not disappointed.

When eating was done it was time for the birthday girl to open presents, and as she did each giver in turn described what the birthday girl meant to them. I listened as each one told stories of how she had been there for them, prayed with them, accepted them. It was truly a beautiful part of the celebration.

The celebration came to an end and we each went our separate way. Now you know I went straight next door to spend my ten dollar coupon. I browsed through their various displays of clothes, jewelry and purses all beautifully arranged according to their color. Oh my, it did look quiet charming, so much to choose from. I wandered to the far end of the store and that is when I saw the polka dot umbrella. Intrigued I picked it up and opened it, wanting to test the coverage it gave.

It was then as I held the umbrella over me I thought about how my friend, the birthday girl, had covered the ladies with comfort, prayer and words of wisdom when needed. In essence she formed an umbrella of love, when they were exposed to a storm.

Sometimes it’s just raining and sometimes the storm is fierce but either way, how wonderful not to have to face it alone. How comforting to know we can turn to sisters-in-the-Lord who will pray with us and for us during the hard times.

“Let me give you a new command: Love one another. In the same way I loved you, you love one another. This is how everyone will recognize that are my disciples-when they see the love you have for each other.” John 13 Message Bible

20160107_105436_000

I want to be an umbrella of God’s love. How about you?

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Umbrella of Love

Leave a Reply

